Navigate Up
Sign In

2014 TERM DATES - NSW CATHOLIC SCHOOLS 

2014 NSW Term Dates.pdf2014 NSW Term Dates.pdf

 

Day 1 of Term1 is designated as a staff development (pupil free) day, which is to be used for staff planning and PD before the students commence the school year the following day. One staff development day each year is to be devoted to religious and/or spiritual formation. Staff development days must be of high quality and designed to engage staff fully in spiritual reflection, professional learning and development.

Schools should schedule the staff development day each term on the same day as neighbouring government schools to minimise problems for students with local bus transport. However, the first day of Term 2 and/or Term 3 and/or Term 4 can be substituted for another day in the term according to the school’s needs and priorities.

As part of the NSW Teachers Agreement negotiations in 2009, it was agreed to provide two extra school PD days at the end of Term 4 each year. The purpose of these two extra days is to provide intensive training to staff to help improve the quality and effectiveness of teaching through a focus on whole-of-school planning for improvement.  These extra days cannot be used for individual or personal PD. If a school wants to re-schedule either or both of these PD days to other stand-down times (eg evenings, weekends or school vacation periods) then the school will be closed to students and teachers on either the last day or last two days of Term 4 respectively. 

Term 1

23 January (Thursday)                       System Leaders Day 1 (New Principals)
24 January (Friday)                           System Leaders Day 2 (New Principals, APs, RECs)
27 January (Monday)                        Australia Day Public Holiday (from 26 January)
28 January (Tuesday)                       Term 1 Starts - Staff Planning Day
29 January (Wednesday)                  Students Return for Term 1
4 February (Tuesday)                       Term 1 Starts at Lake Cargelligo – Staff Planning Day
5 February (Wednesday)                   Students Return for Term 1 at Lake Cargelligo
11 April (Friday)                               Term 1 Ends
14 (Mon) – 25 (Fri) April                    Term Break
18 April (Friday)                                Good Friday
21 April (Monday)                              Easter Monday Public Holiday
25 April (Friday)                                 Anzac Day Public Holiday

Term 2

28 April (Monday)                               Term 2 Starts – Staff Development Day
29 April (Tuesday)                              Students Return for Term 2
9 June (Monday)                                Queen’s Birthday Public Holiday
27 June (Friday)                                 Term 2 Ends
30 June (Mon) – 11 July (Fri)               Term Break

Term 3

14 July (Monday)                                Term 3 Starts – Staff Development Day
15 July (Tuesday)                                Students Return for Term 3
19 September (Friday)                         Term 3 Ends
6 October (Monday)                             Labour Day Public Holiday
22 Sept (Mon) – 6 Oct (Mon)                Term Break

Term 4

7 October (Tuesday)                            Term 4 Starts – Staff Development Day
8 October (Wednesday)                       Students Return for Term 4
17 December (Wednesday)                  Term 4 Ends for All Students
18 December (Thursday)                      Extra School PD Day #1
19 December (Friday)                          Extra School PD Day #2 and Term 4 Ends for Staff

 

 

2015 TERM DATES - NSW CATHOLIC SCHOOLS

Day 1 of Term1 is designated as a staff development (pupil free) day, which is to be used for staff planning and PD before the students commence the school year the following day. One staff development day each year is to be devoted to religious and/or spiritual formation. Staff development days must be of high quality and designed to engage staff fully in spiritual reflection, professional learning and development.
Schools should schedule the staff development day each term on the same day as neighbouring government schools to minimise problems for students with local bus transport. However, the first day of Term 2 and/or Term 3 and/or Term 4 can be substituted for another day in the term according to the school’s needs and priorities.

As part of the NSW Teachers Agreement negotiations in 2009, it was agreed to provide two extra school PD days at the end of Term 4 each year. The purpose of these two extra days is to provide intensive training to staff to help improve the quality and effectiveness of teaching through a focus on whole-of-school planning for improvement.  These extra days cannot be used for individual or personal PD. If a school wants to re-schedule either or both of these PD days to other stand-down times (eg evenings, weekends or school vacation periods) then the school will be closed to students and teachers on either the last day or last two days of Term 4 respectively. 
  
Term 1
 
22 January (Thursday)                    System Leaders Day 1 (New Principals)
23 January (Friday)                        System Leaders Day 2 (New Principals, APs, RECs)
26 January (Monday)                     Australia Day Public Holiday
27January (Tuesday)                     Term 1 Starts - Staff Planning Day
28 January (Wednesday)               Students Return for Term 1
30 January (Friday)                       Term 1 Starts – Staff Planning Day at Lake Cargelligo
2 February (Monday)                    Students Return for Term 1 at Lake Cargelligo
2 April (Thursday)                         Term 1 Ends
7 (Tues) – 17(Fri) April                  Term Break
3 April (Friday)                             Good Friday
6 April (Monday)                           Easter Monday Public Holiday
                                   
Term 2

20 April (Monday)                         Term 2 Starts – Staff Development Day
21 April (Tuesday)                        Students Return for Term 2
8 June (Monday)                          Queen’s Birthday Public Holiday
26 June (Friday)                           Term 2 Ends
29 June (Mon) – 10 July (Fri)         Term Break

 

Term 3
13 July (Monday)                         Term 3 Starts – Staff Development Day
14 July (Tuesday)                         Students Return for Term 3
18 September (Friday)                  Term 3 Ends
5 October (Monday)                     Labour Day Public Holiday
21 Sept (Mon) – 5 Oct (Mon)        Term Break


Term 4
 
6 October (Tuesday)                   Term 4 Starts – Staff Development Day
7 October (Wednesday)              Students Return for Term 4
16 December (Wednesday)         Term 4 Ends for All Students
17 December (Thursday)            Extra School PD Day #1
18 December (Friday)                 Extra School PD Day #2 and Term 4 Ends for Staff